Our Officers

The Association officers for 2023 are:

  • Chair: Prof Robert Lamb, University of Exeter
  • Secretary: Prof Clare Chambers, University of Cambridge
  • Treasurer: Dr Udit Bhatia, University of York
  • Communications officer: Dr Ross Carroll, Dublin City University

Executive Committee members:

  • Mr James Cullis, University of Oxford
  • Prof Cécile Laborde, University of Oxford
  • Dr Maxime Lepoutre, University of Reading
  • Dr Phil Parvin, Loughborough University
  • Dr Carmen Pavel, King's College, London
  • Dr Matt Sleat, University of Sheffield

Ex officio:

  • BIAPT conference convenor (2024) - Professor Duncan Kelly (Cambridge)
  • Irish Political Theory Network co-ordinators – Dr Alexa Zellentin (UCD) & Dr Peter Stone (TCD)
  • PSA Political Thought Specialist Group convenors - Dr Michael Keary & Dr Simon Choat (Kingston)

Honorary members

  • Professor Elizabeth Frazer (Oxford)
  • Professor Gary Browning (Oxford Brookes)


The Political Thought Conference has been held in Oxford, first at New College, now at St Catherine’s, annually since the 1970s.  (Its history remains to be written! See our archive pages for more ….) Over that time it has become a vital part of the intellectual and professional calendar.

From 2024, our conference will take a peripatetic form, moving first to Jesus College, Cambridge.