Conference Archive

Select from the list below to view past conference details

2021 Conference
2021 Conference
2020 Conference
2019 Conference
2018 Conference
2017 Conference
2016 Conference
2015 Conference
2014 Conference
2013 Conference
2012 Conference
2011 Conference
2010 Conference
2009 Conference
2008 Conference
2007 Conference
2006 Conference
2005 Conference
2004 Conference
2003 Conference
2002 Conference
1999 Conference

2021 Conference

Online 7-8 January 2021
Academic Convenors: Adrian Blau (King's College), Benjamin Holland (University of Nottingham), Mihaela Mihai ( University of Edinburgh) Conference Convenors: Elizabeth Frazer (Oxford), Gary Browning (Oxford) Conference Administrator: Maria Dede (University of Exeter)
You need to be logged in to view event papers.

Thursday 7th Jan 2021

Thursday 11am-1230pm

The Politics and Ethics of Autonomy (chair: Kate Townsend, University of Exeter)

Herjeet Marway (University of Birmingham)

‘Multidimensional Accounts of Relational Autonomy and Transnational Feminism’


Gulzaar Barn (New College of the Humanities)

‘The Limits of Consent to Harm: The Case of Uterine Donation’


Arianne Shahvisi (Brighton and Sussex Medical School)

‘Choice for the West, Culture for the Rest: How Racism Demarcates Autonomy’


Allyn Fives (NUI Galway)

‘Obligation, Reason, and Freedom.’


Thursday 1:30-3pm

Early Modern Histories of Civilization:  A Cross-Cultural Enquiry (Chair: Avi Lifschitz, University of Oxford)

Leigh Jenco (LSE)

‘Different Strands: Defences of Otherness in mid- to late-Ming China


Signy Gutnick-Allen (LSE)

‘Nature, Artifice and the End of Government: Mary Wollstonecraft’s An Historical and Moral View of the French Revolution (1794)’


Julia Schneider (University College Cork)

‘Concepts of Civilisation: The Qianlong Book Inquisition (1772–1788)’


Dr. Jessica Patterson (Newnham College, Cambridge)

‘Empire, Enlightenment and Religion: The East India Company and Hinduism in the   Eighteenth Century’


Thursday 3-4:30pm

First Book Workshop

The Politics of Misery: Political Agency and the Medicalization of Negative Emotions

by Dan Degerman (chair: Mihaela Mihai, University of Edinburgh)


Featuring comments from Mohammed Abouelleil Rashed (Birkbeck, University of London), Andrew Schaap (University of Exeter) and Stacy Clifford Simplican (Vanderbuilt University), as well as response from Dan Degerman (University of Bristol)

Friday 8th Jan 2021

Friday 1030am-1200

Race and Political Theory I: Historical perspectives


Adrian Blau (King’s College, London)

‘Racist Political Theory and Quentin Skinner’s Mythology of Coherence’


Humeira Iqtidar (King’s College, London)

‘Race, Caste, Ethnicity and quom: Racism in South Asian thought’


Sophie Lauwers (University of Aberdeen)

‘Asking the “Christian question” in Europe’s Political Secularism’


Sarah Wilford (Universidad de los Andes, Chile)

‘Race, Family, and Liberty in Alexis de Tocqueville’s Democracy in America


12 noon

BIAPT Annual General Meeting

At this meeting, the association will hold its election of officers and award its 2020 early- and mid-career prizes. All conference attendees are warmly invited to attend!


Friday 1:30-3pm

Race and Political Theory II: US Perspectives (chair: Adrian Blau)


Alan Coffee (King’s College, London)

‘Slaves to Individuals or Slaves of Society:  Frederick Douglass, Republican Theory, and the Invisible Chains that Bind Us’


Tommy Curry (University of Edinburgh)

‘Racial Realism and the Arbitrary Set: How Bell’s ‘Racism is Permanent Thesis’ Explains America’s Social Dominance Orientation’


Emma Mackinnon (University of Cambridge)

‘Malcolm X, Draft Resistance, and the Politics of Conscription’


Friday 2-3:30pm

The Intellectual History of Liberal Catholicism in Europe c. 1789-1922 I (Chair: Aude Attuel-Hallade)


Helena Rosenblatt (City University of New York)

‘Benjamin Constant, Madame de Staël and the Problem with ‘Liberal Catholicism’


Aude Attuel-Hallade (Sorbonne Université/Panthéon-Sorbonne)

A Divine Curse or Blessing ? T.B. Macaulay, Edmund Burke and the French Revolution’


Friday 4-5:30pm

The Intellectual History of Liberal Catholicism in Europe c. 1789-1922 II

(chair: Franck Lessay, Université Paris Sorbonne Nouvelle)


Arthur Hérisson (Ecole francaise de Rome)

‘Les rapports entre Eglise et Etat dans la pensée de Charles de Montalembert’


Colm O-Siochru (Dulwich College)

‘Liberty Consecrated’: the Political Theology of Ultramontanes in England, ca. 1835-50’


Frederic Libaud (Université de Strasbourg)

‘Newman: un anti-liberal’


Recent News

2022 Conference is moving on line


Clare Chambers on 'Talking Politics'


Hope you all enjoyed #BIAPT2022! Here’s hoping next year we’ll be back in Oxford. Huge thanks to the organizers, co……