Conference 2018

Political Thought Conference

St Catherine’s College, Oxford, January 4-6, 2018

Academic Convenors: Humeira Iqtidar (KCL) and Iseult Honohan (UCD)

Conference Convenors:  Gary Browning (Oxford Brookes) Elizabeth Frazer (Oxford)

Conference Administrator: Udit Bhatia (Oxford)

Thursday, 4 January

1:00 pm APT Executive meeting

2.15 pm Dimitrios Efthymiou (Frankfurt): “Should EU Immigrants Have Immediate Access to Welfare Rights?”

3:45 pm Tea

4.00 pm Shalini Satkunanandan (UC Davis): “Revisiting the ‘Sacrifice of the Intellect’: Weber on Late Modern Religiosity and Politics”

5:30 pm Poster Presentations

6.30 pm Bar

7.00 pm Dinner

8.30 pm APT Lecture: Melissa Lane (Princeton): “When the ‘Thirty Tyrants’ Got Their Name, and Why It Matters”

Friday, 5 January

9.30 am Faisal Devji (Oxford): “Idols, Commodities and Islam”

11.00 amCoffee

11.30 am CUP Graduate Essay Prize winner: Claire Vergerio (Leiden): “Carl Schmitt’s Gentili and the History of Modern War”

1.00 pm Lunch

2.00 pm Round Table on Tim Hayward’s Global Justice and Finance, with Tim Hayward (Edinburgh), John O’Neill (Manchester), Anahi Wiedenbrug (LSE) and Sabrina Martin (Oxford)

3.30 pm Tea

3:45 pm Professional Session: Digitalisation in History of Political Thought, Peter de Bolla, Cambridge Concept Lab, Prof of Intellectual History and Aesthetics

5-6.00 pm AGM

6.30 pm Reception – Sponsored by Contemporary Political Theory (CPT)

7.00 pm Dinner

8.30 pm Larry Temkin (Rutgers) “Assessing the Goodness of Outcomes:  Questioning Some Common Assumptions” – Sponsored by Critical Review of International Social and Political Philosophy (CRISPP)

Saturday 6 January

9.30 am Alasia Nuti (York): “Emancipation Through the Unjust Past”

11.00 am Coffee

11:30 am Robert Lamb (Exeter) : “Historicizing the Idea of Human Rights”

1 pm Conference ends.

Pre-Registration now open:

Step-free access is available at the venue. Please do not hesitate to contact us at in case you require further information. We look forward to welcoming you in Oxford this January.

Send us your news

Please send us your news, notices or reports of conferences, jobs and other events to

Twitter Twitter